Brida by Paulo Coelho

Brida by Paulo Coelho, is the journey of Brida becoming a witch. It had all the vibes that I love: witches and magi, quaint towns with beautiful histories, MAGIC! It tells not only of Brida’s journey as a witch, but also a blossoming and powerful woman.

I had bought this book at an airport last year, on the way to a school trip. I had started reading it then, and finished it in August of this year. It speaks of the Tradition of the Sun and the Tradition of the Moon, which honestly, I have no clue about. Apart from mentioning these traditions numerous times, the book didn’t really explain clearly to the reader what these were. I liked the writing a lot better in this book, as compared to The Alchemist. The story line was a lot more exciting.

I would have liked to know a little more about how exactly Brida came around to finding out that she was made for witchcraft, what actually triggered her to seek a teacher, or the Magus, in the first place. It is mentioned that it was to learn witchcraft, but how she reached that particular decisive point, is what I would like to know.

*spoilers ahead*

The characters are nice. I really liked the sexy witchy vibe that was given to both the Magus, and Wicca. I do wish, however, that Brida’s relationship with Lorrens, her boyfriend, was elaborated upon. I just couldn’t ship them as much as I would’ve liked to. Moreover, infidelity is something that I’m not okay with. And as much as I shipped the Magus and Brida, I do wish she would’ve broken up with Lorrens before “connecting with God” through her Soul Mate, the Magus. The fact that she cheated on her boyfriend, who she ultimately chose, just did not sit well with me, and it made me deduct that one star.

*spoilers over*

I might just re-read it again to get a better sense of whether I’m judging it correctly or not, instead of sporadically reading it over the course of nearly one year.

I rate it 3.5/5 stars!

Leave a comment